Introduction to South Africa

The republic of South Africa is located on the southern tip of the African continent. The capital Cape Town was originally founded in 1652 by Dutch explorers on behalf of the Dutch East India trading company. The country is bordered to the North y Zimbabwe, Namibia and Botswana. To the East is Mozambique and Swaziland. The enclave of Lesotho is also in the east surrounded by South African territory. The country is a multi-ethnic society and has eleven official languages with the main two being Afrikaans and English. The population is estimated at 50 million people with 79.5% of them being of black African descent. South Africa is home to the largest communities of Asians and Europeans on the African continent.  The countries currency is the Rand.

The country was often fought over by colonial powers but the most infamous conflict was the Boer war, fought between the British Empire and the Dutch settlers of the region. The country became a part of the empire until it declared independence in 1961. South Africa has had a troubled past, the apartheid government oppressed the population and xenophobia was rife, it wasn’t until 1994 that the regime ended and the country became a parliamentary republic.

South Africa is the 25th largest country in the world. Its vast interior is mostly flat and sparsely populated scrubland with the majority of its population living on the coastal regions. The east of the country is lush and green with a climate similar to that found in the tropics. South Africa is a resource rich country with reserves of Gold, Diamonds and many other minerals.