Introduction to Argentina

Argentina is a South American country being bordered by Chile to the West and South, Bolivia and Paraguay to the north and Brazil and Uruguay to the northeast. The country is officially known as the Argentine Republic and is comprised of 23 provinces and the autonomous city of Buenos Aires, the nation’s capital. Argentina is a recognised regional and middle power and is the third largest economy in Latin America. It has the fifth highest nominal GDP per capita.

On the country’s western fringe are the Andes mountains and the South Atlantic is located to the south and east. In the centre of the country lies the Pampas an area of fertile lowlands, to the south of that is the Patagonia, a vast plateau to the South.

The generally temperate climate ranges from subtropical in the north to sub polar in the far south. The north is characterized by very hot, humid summers with mild drier winters, and is subject to periodic droughts. Central Argentina has a temperate climate, with hot summers with thunderstorms, and cool winters; and higher moisture at the east. The southern regions have warm summers and cold winters with heavy snowfall, especially in mountainous zones.